# **DPF Newsletter - July 2002**

#### In This Issue...

**DPF** Elections

Meetings

News from NSF

**APS Prize Winners** 

New APS Fellows

**DPF** Committees

The DPF newsletter is published roughly three times a year. Contributions are welcome. Please send them to the Editor.

#### **Editor:**

Nicholas Hadley (DPF Secretary-Treasurer), Physics Dept., The University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742, (301) 405-6063, fax (301) 699-9195, njhadley@physics.umd.edu

#### **DPF Elections**

It is time once again for a DPF election. This year we will elect a Vice-Chair, and two regular members of the Executive Committee. The Vice-Chair will enter our four-person Chair line (see below) and become Chair in 2005. The two Executive Committee members will join four Executive Committee members remaining on the committee. By now, all DPF members should have received a ballot either by email or regular mail. (If not, please contact the DPF Secretary-Treasurer at the address given above.)

The closing date for the election is October 1, 2002.

The nominees for Vice-Chair are William Carithers (LBNL) and Dan Marlow (Princeton). The nominees for regular members of the Executive Committee are: Marcela Carena (Fermilab), Robert Cousins (UCLA), Usha Mallik (University of Iowa), and John Womersley (Fermilab).

The members of the 2002 DPF Executive Committee and the final years of their terms are

Chair: Stanley Wojcicki (2002). Chair-Elect: Jonathan Bagger (2002) Vice-Chair: Sally Dawson (2002) Past Chair: Chris Quigg (2002)

Secretary-Treasurer: Nick Hadley (2003). Division Councilor: Sally Dawson (2002), Peter

Meyers (2003).

Executive Committee Members: Bill Carithers (2002), Janet Conrad (2002), Marty Breidenbach (2003), Young-Kee Kim (2003), Howard Haber (2004), and Elizabeth Simmons (2004).

We would like to express our appreciation to all who agreed to run for DPF office this year. We are fortunate once again to have an excellent slate of candidates.

# **Meetings**

In 2003, the DPF will hold its divisional meeting in Philadelphia, in conjunction with the American Physical Society April Meeting, April 5 - 8, 2003. We have agreed to join the DPF Meeting to the APS April Meeting in odd-numbered years, to enhance communication with DAP and DNP. In 2004, the APS April meeting will be in Denver, May 1-4. The 2004 DPF Meeting will be held in Riverside, California in September 2004 and will be hosted by the University of California at Riverside.

# **News from NSF**

After a year of budget uncertainties and worse, the DPF is glad to have some good news to share with you. Dr. Marvin Goldberg has been recognized for his exemplary accomplishments and has been awarded the National Science Foundation Director's Meritorious Award.

The award is "for outstanding service in developing a world-leading portfolio of research in particle physics, for extraordinary creativity toward educational and diversity goals, and for leadership in the NSF/DOE collaboration on the Large Hadron Collider Project."

Marvin's award is well deserved, and the DPF Executive Committee is pleased to congratulate him on behalf of all DPF members.

### **APS Prize Winners**

Winners of the 2002 APS prizes have been announced. The following prizes were awarded for outstanding achievement in Particle Physics.

- W. K. H. Panofsky Prize: Masatoshi Koshiba (University of Tokyo), Yoji Totsuka (University of Tokyo), Takaaki Kajita (University of Tokyo) "For compelling experimental evidence for neutrino oscillations using atmospheric neutrinos."
- **J. J. Sakurai Prize:** William Marciano (Brookhaven National Lab), Alberto Sirlin (New York University)
- "For their pioneering work on radiative corrections, which made precision electroweak studies a powerful method for probing the Standard Model and searching for new physics."

**Robert R. Wilson Prize:** A.N. Skrinsky (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics) "For his major contribution to the invention and development of electron cooling and for his development and for his contributions to the physics of electron-positron colliders at the Budker Institute."

**Tanaka Dissertation Award:** Bruce Knuteson, (University of Chicago) "For his development of the innovative SLEUTH algorithm, and its successful

application to a sensitive search for new phenomena in high energy interactions at the D0 Experiment at the Fermilab Tevatron. The results of this work have the potential for changing fundamentally the way that particle physicists approach searches for new physics." Dr. Knuteson, who is currently at the University of Chicago, wrote his dissertation as a student at the University of California at Berkeley, where his advisor was Mark Strovink.

**Dannie Heineman Prize:** Michael Greene (Cambridge University), John Schwarz (California Institute of Technology)

"For their pioneering work in the development of superstring theory."

# Edward A. Bouchet Award: Oliver Keith Baker (Hampton University)

"For his contribution to nuclear and particle physics; for building the infrastructure to do these measurements; and for being active in outreach activities, both locally and nationally."

A full list of APS prize winners for 2002 may be found at <a href="http://www.aps.org/praw/02winners.html">http://www.aps.org/praw/02winners.html</a>.

#### **New APS Fellows**

Congratulations to all those who were chosen Fellows of APS from the DPF in 2001: Carl Albright, Patricia Burchat, Mirjam Cvetic, Stephen Geer, Carl Haber, Byron Lundberg, Guenakh Mitselmakher, Herbert Neuberger, Regina Rameika, Natalie Roe, Amarjit Soni, Xerxes Tata, Paul Tipton, Michael Tuts, Karl van Bibber, Bing Zhou

## **DPF Committees**

We thank the following members of our community who have generously given their time to serve on DPF committees this year:

# **Nominating Committee**

M. Dine (chair), H. Weerts (vice-chair), A. Falk, G. Hanson, V. Luth, S. Willenbrock

### W. K. H. Panofsky Prize Committee

M. Shapiro (chair), B. Winstein (vice-chair), J. Alexander, J. Richman, M. Breidenbach

### J. J. Sakurai Prize Committee

E. Simmons (chair), R. Peccei (vice-chair), E. Eichten, A. Nelson, C. Callan Jr.

#### Robert R. Wilson Prize Committee

W. Panofsky (chair), N. Holtkamp (vice-chair), H. Blosser, M. A. Harrison, M. Tigner

#### **Tanaka Dissertation Award Committee**

T. Ferbel (chair), D. Marlow (vice-chair) J. Conrad, R. Lanou, B. Sadoulet