

President Laura H. Greene National High Magnetic Field Laboratory and Florida State University

President-Elect Roger W. Falcone University of California – Berkeley

Vice President David J. Gross KITP University of California – Santa Barbara

Past President Homer A. Neal *University of Michigan*

Chief Executive Officer Kate P. Kirby American Physical Society October 30, 2017

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Senate Majority Leader 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Paul Ryan Speaker of the House H-232, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Charles E. Schumer Senate Minority Leader 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Democratic Leader H-204, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Majority Leader McConnell, Speaker Ryan, Minority Leader Schumer, and Democratic Leader Pelosi:

As president of the American Physical Society (APS), representing more than 54,000 scientists in universities, industries and national laboratories, I urge you to reach an agreement that raises the budgetary spending caps for fiscal year (FY) 2018. The caps are proving to be detrimental and are jeopardizing the U.S. research enterprise. Increasing the caps would enable more robust support for the federal science agencies – including the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science, National Science Foundation (NSF) and National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST) – without affecting other programs. These agencies are critical to maintaining U.S. leadership in scientific innovation, improving our economic competitiveness, training our next generation workforce, and ensuring our national security.

I commend both the House and Senate Appropriations Committees for their leadership in largely rejecting the deep cuts to federal science agencies proposed in the President's FY 2018 budget request. While their current spending bills include different funding levels for particular agencies, the two chambers displayed clear agreement on the critical role the federal science agencies play in the U.S. scientific enterprise by declining the President's proposed cuts.

NSF, for example, supports nearly one quarter of all federally funded fundamental research conducted at U.S. colleges and universities. Its research and education programs help to advance our scientific knowledge and understanding and to build the STEM workforce. NIST – an often overlooked federal science agency – promotes U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards and technology. NIST has a tradition of partnering with businesses, universities and other government agencies to support our innovation ecosystem. Additionally, DOE Office of Science is the nation's primary supporter of basic physical sciences research, providing funding to researchers across scientific fields in pursuit of both fundamental discoveries and advances to our



One Physics Ellipse College Park, MD 20740-3844 www.aps.org energy security and national security. It also plays an integral role in U.S. leadership in other fields, including advanced materials, high energy physics and plasma physics.

Innovation and economic growth are hindered by stalled investments in research and development. While APS recognizes the need for thoughtful and measured federal spending, robust funding for science is an essential investment for maintaining our nation's innovative edge in national security, energy security, scientific leadership and economic prosperity. I urge your strong support for raising the FY 2018 budget caps, which would enable Congress to increase research investments – spurring innovation, creating new jobs and growing our economy.

Thank you for your consideration of our views.

Sincerely,

Jaun A theine

Laura H. Greene

cc: The Honorable Thad Cochran The Honorable Patrick Leahy The Honorable Richard Shelby The Honorable Jeanne Shaheen The Honorable Lamar Alexander The Honorable Diane Feinstein The Honorable Rodney P. Frelinghuysen The Honorable Nita M. Lowey The Honorable John Culberson The Honorable José Serrano The Honorable José Serrano The Honorable Mike Simpson The Honorable Marcy Kaptur